The Husband:

And the changes keep coming. Presumably due to the added fourth judge and the fact that the show has finally acknowledged its problem with running over their allotted time (earlier, anything they said always seemed to translate to “Fuck the Fox affiliates and their local news,” which is entirely understandable), this is the first time I can remember the Top 5 not getting to sing two songs. Considering how great Tuesday’s show was – all five were either reallllly good or great – it would have been nice to see twice and much awesomeness from them as well, but it’s also understandable that the sheer amount of talent that was on display was a direct benefit of only having to work with one song. Would Allison’s incredible (yes, incredible) performance of “Someone to Watch Over Me” been merely okay if she had done, say, “My Way” later on in the show? Would Adam have suffered just like Clay in season 2 during the Robin Gibb week, where he dropped Simon’s mouth with his performance of “To Love Somebody,” only to embarrass himself with “Grease” (as in “is the word”) less than an hour later? (And yes, I know that was a Top 4 performance, and Top 5 was Neil Sedaka week, but the principle is the same.)

On another note, I’m starting to understand all the love for Kris Allen. No, I don’t want him to win, but I’m finally getting that his performance style is pretty damn spot-on for those who, say, listen to Alice Radio here in the Bay Area. He’s easy-going and confident even when the song is difficult, and his is the face that launched a thousand glittery posters taped to a teenage girl’s walls and ceiling, right next to her dolphin art. I still don’t think I could simply listen to an album of his just yet, but this late in the competition, he is oddly growing on me. I guess the turning point was “Falling Slowly” two weeks ago.

Feeling a little awkward about this suit choice, actually.

Feeling a little awkward about this suit choice, actually.

And no, I wasn’t entirely surprised about Adam being sent to the bottom two. Okay, I thought he was great as usual, but it’s time for me to pull a Children Of Saint Clare Kibosh on “Feelin’ Good.” Yes, it’s a great song, so it’s not like I’m putting the COSC Kibosh on it because it’s entirely overused on the show. My thing is that it seems to be the American Idol song of death. I remember it being performed at least three times before, all in the semifinals, and not once did any of the contestants who used that song advance to the next round or the finals. Hell, I think in season 4 (the first one with a “guy night,” a “girl night” and a results show all in the same week), two people sang it within a day of each other, and both bit the dust. Something about it just rubs people the wrong way. I guess because it sounds angrier than it really is. Or the imagery is a little too strange. (It does, after all, demand that we share feelings with blossoms, dragonflies, reeds and pine scent.) Maybe I should just eliminate any song that could potentially be covered by the band Muse. America doesn’t really get prog rock. (Hell, I don’t half the time.)

And yes, Allison’s performance was the first of the year to move me to tears. This is the performance people have been waiting for, even if that person isn’t Simon. I don’t understand why he thinks that she lacks confidence, because damn, that girl is a performer. Maybe he’s just thrown off by the fact that she’s a minor and/or isn’t dressing like a hussy.

And sorry, Jamie Foxx, you may be an Oscar winner and all Zen now, but you can’t fool me. You will always be Wanda.

The Wife:

There’s a lot of talk from Simon about Allison’s “likability” or her perceived lack thereof. If only Simey read the interwebs and knew how much we all did, in fact, like her. I think her excellent performance this week and her garnering a Silver Stool of Safety were aided by one additional detail: the reveal of a softer, yet still totally Allison, look.

Happy Birthday! You look fabulous!

Happy Birthday! You look fabulous!

That multi-tiered black and white skirt paired with the black bustier? That was exactly what Allison needed for people to see her as serious. She looked appropriate for her age, and for the music of the Big Band era without being too literal or kitschy (say, by picking up a cherry print halter dress from Hot Topic that I totally used to have and coveted and loved the shit out of back when I was a 16-year-old Goth). She was the whole fucking package on Tuesday, from the new black streaks in her pink mane to the thick black straps of her sandals, and she was imminently likeable.

Good job, girlfriend. You fuckin’ earned that Silver Stool of Safety.

And, actually, so did Gokey, who for the first time in this competition actually sounded like more than just a fun wedding singer. Though I’d still like to see him go next week and have a Kris-Adam-Allison final three. That’d be sa-wheet.

I can’t say much about men in suits, but I wonder if it wasn’t Adam’s shiny, shiny white suit paired with the song my husband has just put the offical kibosh of this here blog on that did him in? How can you wear a white suit and not look like an asshole? I think grey or sand are the lightest colors you can safely enter into on the suit spectrum before people start writing you off as a complete douchebag. That said, that doesn’t mean that I didn’t like the suit in context with the performance. I can stand by a white suit in that context. And I can stand by Adam Lambert, even if he’s only wearing a loincloth. In fact, especially if he’s only wearing a loincloth:

